Hard Drive Technologies

Reviews, Guides, Tips and Recovery of Hard Disk Drive Data

Review: Sabrent USB 3.0 To SATA/IDE Hard Drive Adapter

April 30, 2018 Jon 19 Comments

In this video, I reviewed an internal hard drive converter by Sabrent which makes a 2.5 inch, 3.5 inch, and 5.25 optical drive accessible via USB externally. I discussed how it functions, the purposes people would use this, and who I think this is for. Is this something you are looking for? Find out during this video!

If you haven’t already, check out the unboxing: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_zMRUGjiyak

Tigerdirect: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3502724&CatId=5411
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/SABRENT-5-25-INCH-Converter-Activity-USB-DSC9/dp/B00DQJME7Y/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1421284172&sr=8-1&keywords=sabrent+USB-DSC8

Follow me on twitter: https://twitter.com/benicellguy
Follow me on instagram: http://instagram.com/benicellguy
Video Rating: / 5

Similar Posts:

#Adapter#drive#Hard#Review#Sabrent#SATA/IDE

Previous Post

Next Post

Comments

  1. gercape100
    April 30, 2018 - 11:39 pm

    I wanna know if this item could be used for a cd/dvd unit, as you know modern laptops don't have optical discs reader anymore, and in case of disaster(never occur)), with this gadget boot from an external unit to rescue the system you know!

  2. Lorna Arnau
    April 30, 2018 - 11:44 pm

    The 2 in the middle do the same… serve as ground so only 1 is ok

  3. integrazimmy
    May 1, 2018 - 12:31 am

    I feel like this gentleman was learning as he went along. I've watched a TON of unboxing and review videos and there's always structure. This guy is all over the place. Please take it as constructive criticism and improve so you can reach 5,000+ subscribers. Maybe I'll be one in the future. For the moment I aborted before finishing the video.

  4. Archaku
    May 1, 2018 - 12:44 am

    the 2 pin power adapter is for a 2.5 drive. I had to use it for an old laptop hd.

  5. François Labrosse
    May 1, 2018 - 1:39 am

    Good enough video, but its really missing a file transfer test (speed test) to complete the review. Now I know the device would work for what I need, but absolutely don't know if I can really achive maximum hard drive speed through usb3…

  6. JETJOOBOY
    May 1, 2018 - 2:11 am

    If this item.is.still available (and I have many different. Molex cables), is it worth a try?

  7. JETJOOBOY
    May 1, 2018 - 2:27 am

    If this item.is.still available (and I have many different. Molex cables), is it worth a try?

  8. JETJOOBOY
    May 1, 2018 - 2:32 am

    I.found this video.because Many Chinese onlines are offering HDD Docks to.micro.USB
    Unfortunately there is some.confusiomnover whether they are selling SATA or IDE adaptors,
    Anybody tried.one.?
    I desperately want to go through some old IDE 3.5 drives and back.up/transfer etc

  9. JETJOOBOY
    May 1, 2018 - 3:25 am

    I.found this video.because Many Chinese onlines are offering HDD Docks to.micro.USB
    Unfortunately there is some.confusiomnover whether they are selling SATA or IDE adaptors,
    Anybody tried.one.?
    I desperately want to go through some old IDE 3.5 drives and back.up/transfer etc

  10. Jay Bird
    May 1, 2018 - 3:48 am

    You're the first friggin video that explained all the different ports. Cheers

  11. Black Horse
    May 1, 2018 - 4:04 am

    can this be used to connect to SSD??

  12. Spirit Reaper
    May 1, 2018 - 4:45 am

    does this work on
    a dropped external hard drive to save my files?

  13. Ata Abbaszadeh
    May 1, 2018 - 5:25 am

    Well, that tiny power cable that you mentioned you showed to someone and you think it for the case or as you said a fan or something (Min 4:30). Actually it is to power up the IDE HDD. Sometimes the IDE does requires to power up! of course you cannot connect power directly to the IDE HDD, but that tiny two pins head goes into the adaptor itself (Look at its top side and you would see it!) and then the power pin goes tp the power adaptor of course. This way you provide power to the IDE HDD.

  14. Oren Cohen
    May 1, 2018 - 6:15 am

    Great review thank you !

  15. NorthviewVids
    May 1, 2018 - 6:35 am

    funny thing i noticed with these things is that the USB cable does not properly slot into some USB ports – it feels like it has but actually hasn't and sometimes requires some 'forcing'. If the drive is not showing in disk management, this could be the case. I did not like the idea of forcing the cable into the port because i did that on another PC and i damaged the port (leaving me with one less USB port). What I did was get a USB extension cable (or you could use a multi-adapter or something) and plug that inot the PC and the adapter into the extension – it then worked perfectly.

  16. mego plus
    May 1, 2018 - 7:12 am

    Hi, this product only worked for me for two months, one day only died, laptop, pc does not detect the usb, the power supply works correctly the sata disk starts well, all the LED indicator is in power on, what can I do?

  17. Victor Rafael Lopez Ramirez
    May 1, 2018 - 8:04 am

    can u upload the drivers for this adapter? i buyed one and my pc don´t recognize it.

  18. Joe Savolini
    May 1, 2018 - 8:59 am

    I had the same problem with the white power plug on the SATA cable set. The pin connected to the yellow wire did not align correctly and had to be forced into place to get it to connect. The power transformer in my unit had a bent pin as well. I was able to straighten it and the power supply has been ok since then.

  19. Steven Torrey
    May 1, 2018 - 9:36 am

    Will this work for retrieving data from an external hard drive–like wp my passport?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published / Required fields are marked *

Blue Captcha Image
Refresh

*