Hard Drive Technologies

Reviews, Guides, Tips and Recovery of Hard Disk Drive Data

Review: Seagate Backup Plus 4TB External Hard Drive

March 17, 2018 Jon 30 Comments

Review: Seagate Backup Plus 4TB External Hard Drive
Pricing and Availability: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00HFRWXQ0/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_dp_9h1otb0B71T2Y6VA&tag=kytc-20
(aff)

I could really use your support: http://www.patreon.com/kendallgiles

THANKS!
I’d like to say a special thank you to my sponsor:
Ken D. Webber
for helping support this video via my Patreon page: http://www.patreon.com/kendallgiles

Please use my Amazon link — it doesn’t cost you extra and it helps me make more videos!
https://www.amazon.com/?&tag=kendallgiles-20

If you send me something I’d be happy to give you a shoutout in a video — here’s my Amazon wishlist:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/FO3WDTUVDB0Z/ref=cm_wl_rlist_go_o

Be sure to subscribe to my channel: https://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=kendallgiles

Other links of interest:
My Blog: http://www.kendallgiles.com
My Google+: https://google.com/+KendallGiles
My Twitter: https://twitter.com/kendallgiles
Video Rating: / 5

In this video I review the Seagate Backup Plus Portable 4TB USB 3.0 external hard drive

Costco – [http://goo.gl/5G9FyI]
Amazon – [http://amzn.to/29s7CUz]

I use these external portable USB drives for routine backups to keep duplicate copies of my important data such as photographs, videos, music and general data. These drives are very small and bus powered so they do not require a power brick or adapter to work. This makes it very small to store in your locked box, safe, safe deposit box or off-site location.

Although these drives may not be as robust as other drives their low price and easy of storage enables you have multiple copies and as such multiple copies of your data.
Video Rating: / 5

Similar Posts:

#Backup#drive#External#Hard#PLUS#Review#Seagate

Previous Post

Next Post

Comments

  1. Perhaps
    March 17, 2018 - 10:43 pm

    The drive in this review has a light that indicates power. That's it.

    Seagate has chosen to save 5¢ on each unit, and exclude an activity light. So the drive shows no indication of whether or not it is in use (data being read from it or written to it).

    — So, for example, if you are backing up your laptop, and close the cover…
    — Or, if you are backing up your desktop PC, and your screen saver blanks your screen…
    You have no idea whether or not your backup (or restore) has completed. You have to "wake up" your monitor in order to check.

    And how about if some errant program is scurrying around, doing who knows what, on your external drive?
    How would you know?

    If your external drive had an activity light, and your computer was sitting idle (or so you thought), and the light was blinking, well then you would know to check on what was running.

    Although Seagate drives offer good performance, so do Western Digital drives… and Western Digital drives include an activity light. Both companies have comparable pricing.
    Other companies, too (LaCie, Buffalo, etc) also offer external drives that include an activity light.

    So I am done with Seagate.

  2. Nathan Explosion
    March 17, 2018 - 11:36 pm

    I keep all my torrented movies and tv series on this.

  3. Syc F*k
    March 18, 2018 - 12:14 am

    Anyone have an issue with it making a clicking noise without showing up on the computer?

  4. StrongheirTV
    March 18, 2018 - 1:07 am

    Will this work for the Xbox One S?

  5. Wandering Watcher
    March 18, 2018 - 1:49 am

    Fairly quite, what joke. It´s fairly loud!

  6. Fleece Johnson
    March 18, 2018 - 2:12 am

    can I install this into my ps4?

  7. Er. Sandeep Singh Sian
    March 18, 2018 - 3:03 am

    You are nice man, looking cute while explaining

  8. josh davidson
    March 18, 2018 - 3:09 am

    can this be installed in a PS4?

  9. Steven Rowell
    March 18, 2018 - 3:40 am

    I used this drive for almost two years and it stopped working when it dropped off my desk while it was on. Two different data recovery companies have told me that the entire drive data is unrecoverable. ANY RECOMMENDATIONS FOR A GREAT DATA RECOVERY company to look at my drive? Thanks

  10. AskAshleigh
    March 18, 2018 - 4:34 am

    what is the difference between this one and the "Seagate Expansion 4TB Portable External Hard Drive"? I would like to use my external HD between my mac and PC interchangeably – which one would be best. I know you mentioned formatting but i dont know anything about that. I just want to use it and not worry about anything lol Thanks so much

  11. Hannah Hazlehurst
    March 18, 2018 - 4:59 am

    Just bought one of these with 8TB capacity and you're the first review I found that showed it powered on – mine has not managed to power on straight out the box but I needed to be sure. Thanks for showing that!

  12. Paul B
    March 18, 2018 - 5:46 am

    thanks for this : )

  13. Tou Iij
    March 18, 2018 - 6:41 am

    I thought you made a mistake when you said it wasn't meant to be portable because of the sharp edges but no, you're right. I confused it with the Seagate Backup Plus FAST, which you're not reviewing; you're reviewing just the Segate Backup Plus which doesn't have FAST in its name.

  14. Bellonalux 49
    March 18, 2018 - 7:04 am

    I bought a Seagate Backup plus 4tb like a month ago, but I don't really know how to install it. I want to use it as an external hard drive, as an extension rather than a backup. Is that possible?

  15. Max Imus
    March 18, 2018 - 7:39 am

    I want to copy on the drive some huge files but i am unable. I get a negative symbol in a circle. How can I modify this?

  16. Perhaps
    March 18, 2018 - 8:26 am

    Does the drive have an activity light?

  17. love kush
    March 18, 2018 - 9:03 am

    Use Tera copy software to copy faster
    https://filehippo.com/download_teracopy/

  18. Mike Says Go
    March 18, 2018 - 9:47 am

    Haha

  19. Bharat Shakywal
    March 18, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Hi, i want to purchase a 4tb hard drive but i am confused which one to buy. I have seen many failure rates so please help which one is better and long lasting.

  20. reliabledesign
    March 18, 2018 - 10:08 am

    When I plug in my new 2TB Slim to a MacAir running 10.9.5 (I am moving to Sierra but must back-up first), I don't see the device itself in Finder or Disk Utility, only NTFS for MAC. Am I doing something wrong or is something wrong with the device? Thanks very much

  21. djhiphugger
    March 18, 2018 - 10:41 am

    Please tell me why my husband installed this same unit into his Dell windows 7 with no problem. I have the same computer, and it can't install the driver. Been to Seagates website, and i am still no where. Please help me, thank you

  22. djhiphugger
    March 18, 2018 - 11:01 am

    The items are on a big card for security reasons. Hard to get out of the store with a big card in your pocket.

  23. Jodie
    March 18, 2018 - 11:17 am

    have you tried to open the hard drive? it is 2.5 or 3.5?

  24. Eric Money
    March 18, 2018 - 11:55 am

    Any good to use as an Xbox One external? they're 110 on Amazon right now. I have a WD MyBook and it works great just hate that it needs a power supply

  25. anuj K*mar
    March 18, 2018 - 12:07 pm

    my hard disk 4 TV not backup plus

  26. Starkiller Ren
    March 18, 2018 - 12:53 pm

    $140 I got mine for $110(4TB)

  27. Starkiller Ren
    March 18, 2018 - 1:36 pm

    I know you got that from Costco

  28. Jayesh Panchal
    March 18, 2018 - 2:06 pm

    Please do not buy seagate external hard disk
    Purchased and worn only two days एगो
    my data lost

  29. twiddly
    March 18, 2018 - 2:38 pm

    Hi. Does doing this means that the hard drive cant be used on Windows?

  30. Leopoldo Finol
    March 18, 2018 - 3:33 pm

    To open the package you can use the tip of your fingers to separate the cardboard laminates. I used to destroy the packages with scissors and just found out that is doable to split the cardboard appart that sandwiches the product. The video is very good, very informative and thanks for the additional information regarding the speed. It is slow by standard but as fast as any non solid state HD.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published / Required fields are marked *

Blue Captcha Image
Refresh

*