Hard Drive Technologies

Reviews, Guides, Tips and Recovery of Hard Disk Drive Data

Seagate Central Review – Compared to WD My Cloud – Network Hard Drive

January 13, 2018 Jon 14 Comments

Buy it on Amazon – http://goo.gl/IB6WaH (affiliate link). Video Index:

0:29 Hardware overview
1:42 Local network access
3:49 Web-based control panel
6:00 DLNA to smart TV demo
6:15 iTunes sharing limitation
7:47 iPhone app demo
10:09 Desktop remote file access via the web
11:50 Benchmarks
12:47 Conclusion

The Seagate Central is a blazing fast network attached storage device that has a lot of potential but is hindered by poor software that limit functionality. This product is very similar to the WD My Cloud but falls short in a number of areas:

1. Private folders aren’t accessible via the mobile app
2. All images uploaded via mobile are publicly viewable on the local area network
3. Mobile app on iOS is very slow with large photo libraries
4. Only one password protected share per user
5. Administrators can’t see folders created by other users
6. External drives not accessible via mobile app
7. No desktop app
8. Can’t internally transfer from an attached USB drive to the internal hard disk

That said the transfer speeds on this are very, very fast. If they could bring some of the access features up to the level of the WD My Cloud this would be a killer product.

Find Ricki Nicholas’ YouTube channel at http://youtube.com/RikkiNicholas

PRODUCT ACQUISITION DISCLOSURE: I purchased this drive with my own funds.

Similar Posts:

#Central#Cloud#Compared#drive#Hard#Network#Review#Seagate

Previous Post

Next Post

Comments

  1. hermes miraflor
    January 13, 2018 - 9:27 am

    This product is crap. It's a ticking time bomb where your Ethernet adapter suddenly doesn't work and you get the blinking green light of death.

    If you don't have a warranty anymore then you're in bad luck as the ethernet could not be replaced or repaired anymore.

  2. Travis H
    January 13, 2018 - 10:18 am

    Right click COMPUTER, click MAP NETWORK DRIVE. It CAN be connect similarly to a USB external hard drive.

  3. Edgar Mkhitaryan
    January 13, 2018 - 10:52 am

    Does anyone know how I can conned to my Desktop the HDD taken out from Seagate Central? I tried to connect but it shows me 7 different drives in "My comp" and none of them is recognised (7 x 1GB, although my HDD is 3 TB)

  4. Salman Aslam
    January 13, 2018 - 11:52 am

    hi how can i attatch it with ps4

  5. Ricky Fajiculay
    January 13, 2018 - 11:59 am

    Im thinking of getting the Seagate one to serve as a mapped network drive for my Steam games and as scratch directory for After effects. Do you think the read and write speeds can deliver?

  6. Ted Stone
    January 13, 2018 - 12:20 pm

    please don't ever buy a network hard drive, or network storage drive from the western digital company. I bought one in 2007. It was back in 2007. It was a huge capacity back in those days. I used it to store just about anything that filled my mac drive. When it failed two years ago I couldn't salvage anything unless I mail it to a specialist and pay them.
    So I bought a replacement last december and I was reluctant to place anything of value in storage. The company boasts that these devices were designed to always stay on and always stay connected to your home network. 8 out of 10 times I try to access data from this new drive I can't even see the drive on the network even though the physical lights indicate that everything is connected.
    their support system's best response is to restart or reboot everything.
    so why claim your drives are always on and always connected when a consumer can't see the drive 80% of the time they attempt to browse the device.
    I will never, ever, ever buy a HD Drive from WD again. Lucy has tricked this Charlie Brown to kick a field goal for the last time.
    Please family and friends do not buy drives from this company unless you wan't Lucy to pull a football away from you too

  7. Denise Brumm
    January 13, 2018 - 12:21 pm

    Since I installed Sierra My Seagate Central will not run Time Machine. Any ideas? I was thinking about dumping it but my needs are pretty simple. All I want is a simple Time Machine Backup. GREAT videos!!!!! Can you run Time Machine on Drop Box or any of the online sites?

  8. Louis Ikediashi
    January 13, 2018 - 12:54 pm

    H**l Lon, my Seagate Nas DLNA all of sudden is giving me isssues, It's been working all this while with no issues, all of a sudden the twonk server cannot see the data in my public folder. Any solution?

  9. Keith Young
    January 13, 2018 - 1:52 pm

    I wouldn't buy another Seagate Central product. It is the only one that has failed out of all my drives. My Seagate Central became corrupted when I connected from out of town.

  10. Jon Saw
    January 13, 2018 - 2:16 pm

    At the end of the day, this one is better or WD? Is there any better option for both of them?

  11. dsoyarte
    January 13, 2018 - 3:02 pm

    Thanks for your review… Yet, for me… this device is almost a Zero !…. Total fiasco…

    Poor interface, non sense support that almost tell s you… Thanks for buying our product, you are on your own to solve any kind of questions you may have….

    I really regret buying it Low transfering rate, innestable, every now and then it gets disconnected or almost freezzed while managing the files….

  12. Stewart Bladen
    January 13, 2018 - 3:22 pm

    I've just got the wd and my write speeds are around 85mb a second. I transferred 570gb of video data in just over 2 hours. Not done a read test but i assume it will be faster.

  13. CurveTheRain
    January 13, 2018 - 3:31 pm

    The no iOS problem is fixed now right?

  14. hamcs
    January 13, 2018 - 4:10 pm

    Lon, Thank you for your product reviews.
    Now I have a better idea on what product to buy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published / Required fields are marked *

Blue Captcha Image
Refresh

*