Hard Drive Technologies

Reviews, Guides, Tips and Recovery of Hard Disk Drive Data

Seagate Wireless Mobile Portable Hard Drive Review – Stream Wirelessly to iPhone iPad Android

February 26, 2017 Jon 27 Comments



Buy it on Amazon – http://lon.tv/t3yv0 (affiliate link)

This external Seagate hard drive also doubles as a battery powered wireless server for mobile devices. Media and other files can be loaded into the drive wirelessly or via a direct connection via USB.

It supports iOS (iPhone and iPad), Android, Kindle Fire, and Windows devices.

The drive can support up to three users simultaneously and will also extend an internet connection through the drive so you can still access the web while connected to it.

It is basic transportation but it works well. The app is a little rough around the edges (especially when it comes to photo browsing) but it works adequately enough to stream videos. An onboard battery can power the device for 5-6 hours.

There is also a web server built into the hard drive which can access most of the media without the need for the app on any device.

Overall this is a good value for what it is.

Subscribe to my email list to get a weekly digest of upcoming videos! – http://lon.tv/email

Visit the Lon.TV store to purchase some of my previously reviewed items! http://lon.tv/store

Want to chat with other fans of the channel? Visit our forums! http://lon.tv/forums

Want to help the channel? Start a Patreon subscription!
http://lon.tv/patreon

Follow me on Facebook!
http://facebook.com/lonreviewstech

Follow me on Twitter!
http://twitter.com/lonseidman

Catch my longer interviews in audio form on my podcast!
http://lon.tv/itunes
http://lon.tv/stitcher
or the feed at http://lon.tv/podcast/feed.xml

Follow me on Google+
http://lonseidman.com
Video Rating: / 5

SSD vs. HDD vs. Seagate Hybrid SSHD

SSD:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148528

HDD:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822178125

Hybrid Drive:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822178339
Video Rating: / 5

Similar Posts:

#Android#drive#Hard#iPad#iPhone#Mobile#Portable#Review#Seagate#Stream#wireless#Wirelessly

Previous Post

Next Post

Comments

  1. KeeperofSecrets
    February 26, 2017 - 6:21 am

    Can I transfer apps onto the drive?

  2. kelly Armstrong
    February 26, 2017 - 6:39 am

    You lon are very good at reviewing products you come from the point of view of some one who know what us non-tech head want to know and understand and that's very intelligent you have just earned a sub from me that for use  brain when explaining to us!

  3. trinidadparaminman
    February 26, 2017 - 7:27 am

    Just got mines, works good with my Moto X Pure phone. Just make sure and download a video player that can support most formats, I use MX Player.

  4. Sermad Sajjad
    February 26, 2017 - 7:58 am

    is this drive based on ssd or hdd

  5. cyigen85
    February 26, 2017 - 8:47 am

    Can it play .avi films on an ipad air 2? And can this connect to tre vlc player in tre ipad air 2?.. i really hope to get some answers

  6. Ivan Joble
    February 26, 2017 - 8:53 am

    Seagate wireless plus OR WD My Passport Wireless for iOS devices?

  7. Timothy Travis
    February 26, 2017 - 9:47 am

    will it work with no WiFi internet in the house

  8. al j
    February 26, 2017 - 10:33 am

    after uploading 435gb. of avi movies it won't play them.really?? wtf seagate

  9. Shaik abdul kareem
    February 26, 2017 - 11:25 am

    I got battery backup 4 hrs continue watch movie. I dont know whether i got defective or working the same ways for all? mentioned in booklet as up to 8hrs.

  10. Shaik abdul kareem
    February 26, 2017 - 11:46 am

    Hi… Thanks for nice video. How do we connect from mobile network? Is possible to connect this wireless hard drive from different location with another network?.Thanks

  11. Donald Marshall
    February 26, 2017 - 12:29 pm

    Does it steam iTunes movies?……

  12. Nikolaos Sourtzinos
    February 26, 2017 - 12:57 pm

    Can I stream this over Samsung Smart TV???

  13. Bend Em
    February 26, 2017 - 1:27 pm

    So yes it does stream video from wifi ext seagate drive to iPhone or iPad and the video quality is great video?

    But photo images are not nice ?

    And what MP4 video is not nice but what format video is nice ?

  14. قناة عراق التعليمية
    February 26, 2017 - 1:55 pm

    good work

  15. umi onkyo
    February 26, 2017 - 2:12 pm

    lol hdd time

  16. Arthur Thaete
    February 26, 2017 - 2:53 pm

    Cmon man this video was made in 2014 and you have sell monitors that were made when windows vista came out Jesus

  17. Sergio Ruiz
    February 26, 2017 - 2:56 pm

    First fair video of ssd vs hdd i see

  18. mystery chemical
    February 26, 2017 - 3:51 pm

    First thing is first SSD loads faster. How? Coz of It's speed? No, It doesn't define that all well. HDD have 100-150MB/s sequential and only 1MB/s for 4K read which is too much slower and on the other side SSD or SSHD(same as they have SSD portion also) have 150 above sequential and above 20MB/s 4K read. Boot uses uses only ~1GB RAM, so boot time usually depends on 4K Read (Sequential doesn't matter much as boot will not use full capacity since the data files are too many and scattered on disc.) So, get good SSD with faster 4K read(not write) speeds to get faster boot up. For Heavy Gameloads or softwares go for SSD with Fast read too 😀

  19. Adventure Guy
    February 26, 2017 - 4:08 pm

    Thanks, I was planning to use my extra drive bay in my laptop to fit an ssd. Turns out it's not really worth the moeny. Btw It's an Inspiron 15 7000 Gaming prefitted with a 1TB sshd

  20. Bazzington James
    February 26, 2017 - 5:06 pm

    I love a little ssD in my rear slots.

  21. wolarts
    February 26, 2017 - 5:33 pm

    omg hey not fair test!!!!! the hdd monitor had a speaker on it and was weighing it down!!!! I DEMAND A REMATCH!!!!!!1!!1!!

  22. ILLuminati21
    February 26, 2017 - 6:30 pm

    dammmmnnnn that hard drive is slow SSD hands down hybrid is ok

  23. Yan Moura
    February 26, 2017 - 6:56 pm

    Yup, this is it! My i5 with the regular HDD used to take something around 1 minute to load Windows 7. With SSD it takes 12 seconds. It's insane!

  24. GamingTV
    February 26, 2017 - 7:48 pm

    does SSHD use a disc?

  25. Funny Equal Funny
    February 26, 2017 - 8:02 pm

    What is the meaning of SSD, HDD and Hybrid?

  26. jan roelof de vries
    February 26, 2017 - 8:37 pm

    troep van de vuilniswagen

  27. jan roelof de vries
    February 26, 2017 - 8:47 pm

    rommel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published / Required fields are marked *

Blue Captcha Image
Refresh

*