Hard Drive Technologies

Reviews, Guides, Tips and Recovery of Hard Disk Drive Data

Why you need NAS Hard Drives WD RED REVIEW

May 12, 2017 Jon 26 Comments



Why you need NAS hard Drives WD RED REVIEW
Fill your NAS with WD Red, then fill it with awesome.
There’s an industry-leading WD Red drive for every compatible NAS system to help fulfil your data storage needs. With drives up to 8TB, WD Red offers a wide array of solutions for customers looking to build the biggest, best-performing NAS storage solution. Built for single-bay to 8-bay NAS systems, WD Red packs the power to store your precious data in one powerhouse unit. With WD Red, you’re ready for what’s next.

you can buy it here
Worldwide buy it at span.com http://www.span.com

Website for all Videos: http://terrifictoytime.com/dads-toys/
Twitter https://twitter.com/WguYouTube
Email westerngentsunited@gmail.com
Donations: signonmedia@gmail.com (PayPal)

Upgrade RAM XPS 15 https://youtu.be/FQDyh3ABXXA
QNAP TS 453A NAS https://youtu.be/kZeHoVJPfzY
Cheapest Mac https://youtu.be/eXzfQs4WNWg
Install Windows 10 on XPS 15 XPS 13 https://youtu.be/UbUw8NldXwA
Install Windows 10 the EASY way https://youtu.be/VUTQLXzI4Sc
Dell XPS 15 3 month review https://youtu.be/RoiAIpKTOdo
Dell 13 Inspiron 7000 https://youtu.be/bGR-5NbbXRc
RT AC88U Review https://youtu.be/EAlTSzDC7aA
Dell 11 inpiron 3000 review https://youtu.be/YEEKYz9eWtY
QNAP TS-451+ NAS Review https://youtu.be/xaPMgiwvgcI
QNAP TS-451 NAS https://youtu.be/XC63pUoLotE
Alienware v XPS 15 Gaming https://youtu.be/7xZ7QnBluQ4
Asus RT-AC88U https://youtu.be/hKoVa8vQdpw
Extra battery Life XPS 15 https://youtu.be/jbw-_UERUn4
XPS 13 Boot Times https://youtu.be/JSztFtveyOg
Long Term XPS 15 review https://youtu.be/CGUWgqaIV84
Viewing Angles https://youtu.be/AtWMhnKU1cI
Upgrade SDD on XPS 15 https://youtu.be/nGcaMWJadoc
Review of XPS 15 https://youtu.be/Tww5CFB-410
Gaming on XPS 15 https://youtu.be/-JNU0hmpy0c
Unboxing XPS 15 https://youtu.be/WrSpfMIMuvs
Boot times XPS 15 https://youtu.be/GZGyTBVvKIk

Extra Battery Life XPS 13 https://youtu.be/831OykdUB24
Inside the XPS 13 https://youtu.be/tnbcb8I-Hh0
Dell XPS 13 Boot https://youtu.be/JSztFtveyOg
Dell XPS 13 review https://youtu.be/gG8xhj0BNhE

HP Envy boot times https://youtu.be/WpkDVykYIJA
HP pavilion x360 https://youtu.be/tLSKSd_oma4

Synology DS716+ Review https://youtu.be/Gdnp-Xz6PtQ
Synology DS716+ set up https://youtu.be/wktmxQsgRlQ
Synology DS716+ NAS unboxing https://youtu.be/LVoc5jKlIyo

All in 4k
Intro music by https://soundcloud.com/assertivef

-~-~~-~~~-~~-~-
Please watch: “Dell XPS 13 Kaby Lake REVIEW 9360 Simply the Best”

-~-~~-~~~-~~-~-
Video Rating: / 5

SCALE IT IN GOLD. UP TO TEN TIMES THE WORKLOAD CAPACITY OF DESKTOP DRIVES.Reliability, capacity, power efficiency and performance for a multitude of Datacenter-specific applications. Robust storage with 24/7 premium customer support. Full Range of Nearline CapacitiesFor the most demanding datacenter environments, from entry-level servers to high end enterprise storage systems. High Workload Capability Designed to handle workloads up to 550TB per year, which is among the highest workload capability of any 3.5-inch hard drive. High Level of Reliability.One of the highest levels of reliability and durability for 24x7x365 operation within the most demanding storage environments. https://www.wdc.com/products/business-internal-storage/wd-gold.html

Twitter https://twitter.com/WguYouTube
Email westerngentsunited@gmail.com
Donations: signonmedia@gmail.com (PayPal)

Graphics card reviews https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL2OzPwdKxTAwDdjxNtii4GdeSoqFnQZxh

All in 4k
Intro music by https://soundcloud.com/assertivef

-~-~~-~~~-~~-~-
Please watch: “Dell XPS 13 Kaby Lake REVIEW 9360 Simply the Best”

-~-~~-~~~-~~-~-
Video Rating: / 5

Similar Posts:

#Drives#Hard#Need#Review

Previous Post

Next Post

Comments

  1. Damian Chiliński
    May 12, 2017 - 12:21 pm

    Wait what…? How they're supposed to know it's RAID when you use multiple JBOD controllers and ZFS or btrfs software RAID… Hardware RAID is prone to silent corruption and doesn't have any way to correct bit rot effectively and nobody in 2016 should recommend it… When using hardware RAID and reliable filesystem with native checksumming (ZFS/btrfs on lin, ReFS on win), then when it detects bitrot (checksum of sector doesn''t match) – filesystem will throw i/o error on file, won't allow you to read it or back it up and you're fucked. With direct access fs will search through available disks looking for uncorrupted sector and correct data on the fly. I'm using 12x Seagate NAS in RAID6 array in Linux storage server for few years already and it works. Didn't explode. 5<12. And it was cheap comparing to "enerprise NAS drives". You can get just normal 10G SFP+ pci-e network card and 10G SFP+ switches or even some cheaper ISP grade 10G router like MikroTik CCR1009 and 4 gigabit network card for workstations and do rr-bonding on linux (samba can use bonding for "single connection" too even though windows technically doesn't support rr-bonding)… It easily scales above 600MB/s read. I don't know when drives would bottleneck because in my case deduplication bottlenecks on iops and drives encryption+compression bottlenecks on CPU.

    FFS whole this naive leaflet b******t made me cringe…

  2. Apoc414
    May 12, 2017 - 1:01 pm

    Dumb question, will this be good for regular desktop use?

  3. SjanST Official
    May 12, 2017 - 1:01 pm

    If you really want the most relaible hdd's you want HGST drives. Just make sure your raid controller supports it

  4. Unkyjoe's Playhouse
    May 12, 2017 - 1:35 pm

    Not true on the error correction, that occurs with Windows OS only!!! Not Linux based nas. Just FYI you do not need NAS drives.

  5. Stormprobe
    May 12, 2017 - 1:50 pm

    You are wrong about the RPM. The WD Red is a 5400 RPM drive. Period. IntelliPower is marketing BS. And the WD Red Pro is 7200 RPM.

  6. Reflex Rages
    May 12, 2017 - 2:35 pm

    I got this about a month ago and it has been clicking ever since it came out of the box. The thing is though it's not your typical click of death, it's more a loud slower ticking sound at startup and sometimes during operation.

    I have run it through SeaTools and there are no issues with it. As well as contacting the people who sold it, who informed me that this is likely to be operation sounds, due to it being a mechanical hard drive.

    So, I was wondering if you knew if this was true by any chance, or if the hard drive is failing like I suspect it is. Unfortunately I don't have enough free time to take apart the computer and look at the system.

  7. C MJ
    May 12, 2017 - 2:55 pm

    My WD hard drives have a 5 year warranty. They are Raptor 10K 1TB SATA 3 hard drives. I am surprised that the Blue drive doesn't have a longer warranty. I believe that the Black drives have a 5 year warranty. Now the Raptor HDD's are designed for servers, but became a drive that sold well to those that wanted a performance HDD.

  8. Craig Lambert
    May 12, 2017 - 3:30 pm

    Stupid question. Thinking about picking up a Synology 416Play. I've got drives now in an old Windows Home Server. I was going to buy one Red now and backfill over time as the drives fail or when I feel like replacing them. Any problem with doing it this way? Not sure I can get everything at once through the Finance Committee (wife) .

  9. Photoshopped
    May 12, 2017 - 4:26 pm

    I am not recommending WD hard drives. Had it several and some of them broke down. I recommend go with HGST Nas. For sure 100% more reliable. Second choice is Segate Nas drives. But for your own good dont go with WD.

  10. Harryo
    May 12, 2017 - 4:59 pm

    Too much WD!

  11. Mujahed Bardaweel
    May 12, 2017 - 5:38 pm

    H**lo
    I saw your video awhile ago, and based on your recommendation I bought WD gold 10 TB and DS216J, after installing the hard drive to the NAS yesterday I noticed this "clicky" sound and strong vibration from the hard drive, the sound is really loud and non of my other hard drives produced this sound! the system says the hard drive is OK and it works fine (copying data from and to the drive), should I be concerned ? did you faced this problem? I need your help?
    Thanks 🙂

  12. cornbreadman
    May 12, 2017 - 5:56 pm

    Can I use this as a stand alone/single HDD? (I worry about TLRF)

  13. Pan Szafa
    May 12, 2017 - 6:16 pm

    How loud is this drive? How Black or better?

  14. WizardNumberNext
    May 12, 2017 - 7:09 pm

    If it is for Data Centre, then it is definitely NOT for NAS.
    NAS does not have good cooling at all. NASs are NOT kept in Air Conditioned rooms (yes server room are usually getting AC even when rest of building does not get AC). Just by that we can say for sure this drive is not far NAS

  15. Dave Chism
    May 12, 2017 - 7:18 pm

    I'm ordering FOUR WE Gold 10 TB drives today to go in my Synology DS-1815+ NAS. I hope the prices drop so I can afford to get four more to fill the NAS.
    Thank you for your video.

  16. C MJ
    May 12, 2017 - 8:11 pm

    Yea they are good for a NAS. These are what I run in my NAS. I skipped the RED. I also used the Raptor 10K sata6 HDD's.

  17. Prometey rus
    May 12, 2017 - 8:24 pm

    Нерусь каой-то…

  18. World of AI - Games
    May 12, 2017 - 9:12 pm

    The high price of these drives can mostly be attributed to the large capacity. 8 – 10TB is seriously way more space than what most people need for a typical consumer PC. Most consumer PCs sold today are around 1 – 2TB at most and the WD Gold version of these drivers cost less than $200. $200 is less than what you would pay for in a SSD.

  19. John Lauinger
    May 12, 2017 - 9:57 pm

    I would buy it. Think like this.

    Less is more. Better store less and really what you need. Your saved data should be like gold nuggets and have a high value for you. Other wise there are cheap data calories that makes you brain fat.
    So if you are too poor to afford better buy only a 2 TB hard drive instead of 8 TB or whatever…
    If you loose your data, then you will be sad and recover are backup your data also costs money…

    Better less products but no low-quality products. Nowadays the products get even s**ttier. So it is even more important to buy premium quality. Because premium gold quality or what so ever called is still cheap industrial crap and will not last as long like an old ugly TV which lasts 25 years or longer….

  20. seppomuppit
    May 12, 2017 - 10:16 pm

    Good review mate.

  21. Cairoloves
    May 12, 2017 - 11:13 pm

    Thanks for the review! I personally went with the WD Red as I heard that they were the quietest drives out of the lot whilst still being suitable for NAS drives. How noisey did you find the Golds vs your older hard drives, I'm guessing they become pretty noisy when hitting 200MB/s?

  22. Fireh**l
    May 12, 2017 - 11:22 pm

    H**lo! I need a new hard drive to store my videos and photos. Can I use WD RE and SE for PC? Thank you so much.

  23. Morzy
    May 12, 2017 - 11:37 pm

    The 4TB version is literally less than $20 more than the 4TB Black. I was gonig to go Black for the warranty but I may as well go Gold..

  24. darknight0z
    May 12, 2017 - 11:55 pm

    My 2 4TB gold just arrived. I was surprised there was no bubble wrap in the packaging, just came in the same packaging as yours with those black plastic holders and a flimsy box. My WD Blue came with some bubble wrap!! I am thinking of complaining to Amazon about this.

  25. Brian Ward
    May 13, 2017 - 12:10 am

    My samsung 840pro 512gb. just died, so im thinking of replacing it with one of these.

  26. Brittany Ford
    May 13, 2017 - 12:27 am

    This WD Gold is the Rolls Royce of the hard drive community!! Thanks to its pricy cost as a stupid hard drive really it is a counterfeit of a HGST Helium HE10 drive that looks like a McLaren. WD got in a fight with Hitachi and got Toshiba involved who had nothing to do with them so they just told them to make 3.5s. I guess if I could drive one of these around the world, I would go to Dubai to visit Mo Vlogs with his family!

    Just sayin.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published / Required fields are marked *

Blue Captcha Image
Refresh

*